top of page

SLEEP ASSOCIATIONS. Renee Grob, MD, CPSC. Aug 15 · 2 min read. Last night I woke...



SLEEP ASSOCIATIONS


Last night I woke to find that one of my pillows had fallen on the floor. I reached down, picked it up, and tucked it back under my arm. I gave my puppy a pat and quickly drifted back to a much needed, restful sleep.


Sleep associations are those conditions which are present when an individual lays down to sleep. They are usually required again following normal night time arousals for one to return to sleep. Some sleep associations are positive — I sleep on the left side of the bed with two pillows (one for my head, one to hold) sandwiched between my cozy, cotton bedding. When I slip into lighter sleep stages these constants tell my subconscious that I am safe and that there is no need to become fully awake, so I roll over and blissfully continue my slumber.


All people, including children, learn to connect certain conditions with falling asleep. Infants and children are more at risk for negative sleep associations, as these require parental intervention to reproduce. All people, including children, cycle through deep and light sleep. The child who is rocked to sleep then gingerly placed in the crib will awaken later in the wee hours and wonder why she is not still not being rocked in the arms of her loving parent.


Studies show that nearly one half (!!!) of all 6–12 month old infants and one third of all one year old toddlers have night wakings that are considered to be problematic. Nearly one fifth of those over the age of 1 year continue to have night time awakenings.


Negative sleep associations are the primary cause of frequent night awakenings. They can lead to frustrating, sleepless nights, and exhausted families. Luckily, with a lot of love and a little patience, they can be undone. A well trained, caring and compassionate Pediatric Sleep Consultant can work with families of all parenting styles to find the best way to help their child fall asleep, and fall back to sleep throughout the night, all on their own. This can lead to a lifetime of healthy, restorative sleep.


If you, or someone you know, struggle with a child who has problematic and frequent night wakings, send me an email and we can arrange a free 15 minute introductory phone call to determine if we are a good fit. Let me help you get the well needed and well deserved sleep you require.


Renee Grob, MD, CPSC

kidsleepfxr@gmail.com

15 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page